Boston Virtual Run

Hi folks, I’m sure most of you have heard/read/watched the tragedy in Boston yesterday. So many words can come bubbling up in me, of anger, of disgust, of dissolution. But they’re not worth saying. What happened was horrendous, heart breaking, and devastating. A marathon, for me, is a far-reaching goal I hope to one day accomplish, not an event for pain and suffering.

But, rather than focus on the negatives of this, I have to comment upon the awe-inspiring response from others. We could sit and mumble and mutter and curse and create political epithets but rather than that, I personally am doing what is the exact opposite of what any terrorist or like person could want: I’m focusing on the positive. A quote from Patton Oswalt has gone viral but I’d like to share it anyway because it hit very deep for me:

“I remember, when 9/11 went down, my reaction was, “Well, I’ve had it with humanity.”

But I was wrong. I don’t know what’s going to be revealed to be behind all of this mayhem. One human insect or a poisonous mass of broken sociopaths.

But here’s what I DO know. If it’s one person or a HUNDRED people, that number is not even a fraction of a fraction of a fraction of a percent of the population on this planet. You watch the videos of the carnage and there are people running TOWARDS the destruction to help out. (Thanks FAKE Gallery founder and owner Paul Kozlowski for pointing this out to me). This is a giant planet and we’re lucky to live on it but there are prices and penalties incurred for the daily miracle of existence. One of them is, every once in awhile, the wiring of a tiny sliver of the species gets snarled and they’re pointed towards darkness.

But the vast majority stands against that darkness and, like white blood cells attacking a virus, they dilute and weaken and eventually wash away the evil doers and, more importantly, the damage they wreak. This is beyond religion or creed or nation. We would not be here if humanity were inherently evil. We’d have eaten ourselves alive long ago.

So when you spot violence, or bigotry, or intolerance or fear or just garden-variety misogyny, hatred or ignorance, just look it in the eye and think, “The good outnumber you, and we always will.”

(source)

I agree inherently. I am inspired, amazed, and downright in love with the response from so many even immediately afterward. As humans, we jumped to helping where we could and how we could. You know those ‘faith restored in humanity’ articles?

13 Examples Of People Being Awesome After The Attack On The Boston Marathon

Hospitals nearby literally were sending people away because they had THAT many people offering to donate blood. Sure, there were some sick individuals yesterday, some truly evil people. But the amount of love, support, and help offered but thousands overwhelms that. And it will every single time.

I’m horrified, devastated, and so angry, but I’m also respectful, awe-inspired, and truly grateful for humanity today.

For those interested in helping out physically or even just showing support and love:

Boston Marathon Help: Relief Groups Aid Victims (How To Help)

Run Junkees: Runners United To Remember

Boston Marathon Explosions: How You Can Help

We could start a political agenda. We could blame any number of countries, political and religious groups, or terrorist cells. We could argue, fight, and be afraid.

Or we can help. We can support one another. We can offer help and love.

Guess which one I chose?

-a.

Sick, sunburnt, and sore but I still ran close to 2 miles and managed my fastest mile.

Sick, sunburnt, and sore but I still ran close to 2 miles and managed my fastest mile.

And on a side note: seriously, why would you ever mess with Boston? Have you not seen the Boondock Saints?

4 thoughts on “Boston Virtual Run

  1. Thank you for the ’13 examples’ link, I definitely seek comfort and inspiration during tragic times like this of how wonderful people really can be. And well done on the run, I gave my run my all today as well #RunningForBoston

  2. Well said! (And thank you for the comment on my blog post, too!)

    I’m definitely lacing up my sneakers after work and running a silent 3 miles for Boston tonight. I know that it can’t help anyone or do any good, but its’ my way of paying respect and homage to all of the marathoners and spectators affected by this. I just want them to know that we’re all running with them!

    And this whole tragedy also calls to mind an older, hopefully well-known quote from Ms. Anne Frank:

    “In spite of everything I still believe that people are really good at heart. I simply can’t build up my hopes on a foundation consisting of confusion, misery and death.”

Leave a Reply

