Breaking Plateaus!

Today has been a day pretty full of self-love and self-improvement; I love days off like that! In honor of my finally breaking my weight loss plateau and hitting under 150 pounds, which I’ve been stuck at for about six months, I’m filling this post with inspiration of my own, that I’ve read from others, and links to help you feel good as well. sunset

When I say I’ve been stuck at 150 pounds for six months, it’s true but it’s because I slacked off continuing my lifestyle for a few months. What’s fabulous is that in two weeks, I’ve lost almost five pounds. And do you know why? Yes, because I was running and working my butt off sure, but also because I’d really started to feel good about myself again. I’m not sure if I started to feel good because I started working out or if I was just starting to appreciate myself again, but with my head in the right place, I feel more accomplished when I make a healthy eating decision, or work out extra hard (or when I reeeally don’t want to). What I lacked in the fall that kept me from continuing cross training when my shins were too messed up was a sense of self-love. I started getting into shape last summer because, as I said then, I wanted the “health gain”. It wasn’t for a guy, or a dress size, it was because I wanted to be healthy and strong and knew that being those would help me to be a happier, better adjusted person. In the fall, I started feeling pretty down on myself (previously mentioned) and basically just felt fat and useless most of the time. When I ran or worked out, it was out of self-hatred. I hated the way I looked, I didn’t want anyone to see me running, I wanted to complete my fitness journey in the dark so that I could step out the door one day and everyone would see how thin I was and, I don’t know, love me. backgroundme

Sounds pretty unhealthy, right? It was. So after a few months of irritating myself and dragging myself through the mud, I started to remember why I had began running in the first place, why I had really worked on my diet and watched what I ate. Not because I wanted everyone else to see me as a size two, but because I deserve it. I deserve to look in the mirror and like what I see. I deserve to feel energized, and be constantly amazed at what my body can do. I deserve to be strong, to participate in anything I wanted.

During a work training yesterday, I got into a pretty serious discussion with a co-worker that I’ve worked closely with since being hired (we have the same position) about my relationship beliefs, and eventually, why she and I were who we were. I had never known that she struggled with appearance issues because she is a thin, beautiful, healthy, and level-headed woman. Not that I believed I was the only woman who dissected every single angle of her body, but because I, like a lot of people, equate beauty with happiness. Thinness with health. And that’s not how it is. Thin, beautiful people can be happy! But they can also be unhealthy, or miserable. Every other body shape (I started listing them but it took forever) is beautiful too! And can be healthy!

As women, hell, as people, we get into this awful tendency to talk so negatively about ourselves. We bond with friends over things about ourselves we want to change. meangirlsIn fact, we rely on others to make us feel good about ourselves because complimenting ourselves is…what…cocky? There is no point to my eating all natural, working out intensely, or even practicing yoga regularly unless I’m doing it out of an act of love.

A fabulous blogger whose page I adore/read religiously, Piloting Paper Airplanes, recently wrote a post about self-blaming and the power our own words and beliefs hold over us. I’ve linked it above. I took a lot, I mean a lot, from it. Whenever you’re having an off day, read it. It’ll perk you right up. She brings up the point that there is no point to trying to improve our own health unless we look at all aspects of our health. In my case, why strain to get better at yoga but not strive to deepen my meditation?

Have you ever seen a before/after of people who have been airbrushed? If you haven’t, or even if you have and you want another pick me up, look at this: 17 Mesmerizing Before & After Photoshop GIFs. It’s a wonderful reminder that nobody is as pretty as they look in a magazine. Except Megan Fox. She just isn’t fair.

Finishing up my recipes and work out post – up tonight or tomorrow morning!

Because I’m feeling like it –

Namaste

-a.

 

2 thoughts on “Breaking Plateaus!

  1. This is SO good: “…because I, like a lot of people, equate beauty with happiness. Thinness with health. And that’s not how it is.” Love the Mean Girls reference, too. I forget about that scene, but it’s so perfect for this kind of conversation.

    Thanks for the shout–out and congrats on moving forward with your goals!

  2. Congratulations on breaking the plateau! You are an inspiration to me. I have a pair of pants that I accidentally bought too small and I’ve been trying to get in them for months! For a while, I could get them only up to mid-thigh. Now, I can get them up to my hips, but I can’t button them all the way! You have inspired me to work hard to get there. 🙂

    Also, I wanted to let you know that I nominated your blog for the Leibster Award. You can check out more info about that/see the rules here: http://thesecretlifecoachofdc.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/the-leibster-award/

Leave a Reply

