Orange you glad it’s February?

Ah yes, February. The shortest, usually coldest month of the year with a holiday dedicated solely to people in lub. My friend Taylor and I already have plans to grab Valentine’s cocktails during Happy Hour but after that…well, I guess I’m not sure what’s going on yet. That’s okay, Valentine’s Days for me have been pretty shabby over the years of my adult life. Not that I’ve been alone, but kind of screwed over. At least when February is over, Spring starts to peek her timid face out. Speaking of the weather…

Well, this corner of Maryland bid a rather bitter farewell today to the warm weather we were treated with earlier this week. Granted, most of yesterday was spent staring out at a torrent of rainfall but at least it was in the upper 50’s. I woke up this morning later than usual because I hit the snooze button a few times and then just flat out fell back asleep for 20 minutes. Blame “Shopaholic and Baby” and my inability to put a book down even though I’ve read it fifteen times. After kind of drop and rolling out of bed, I got dressed and went for a run.

I’ve actually been trying to update my work out clothing for a while now. All throughout college (I use the terms ‘all throughout’ very loosely…more like ‘once every three months’) I was pretty much an oversized T-shirt and cheerleading shorts type of girl. But then I found Target. And realized that when I ran in the leggings I usually wore as, well, pants, they didn’t stay up. One breezy afternoon the world was treated to my butt regularly peeking out because my tank top kept riding up and my leggings just wanted to chill with my knees. Compression pants entered my life about a month ago and I am so in love. They’re meant to keep your muscles warm to prevent strain, which mine do, but they also make my butt look faaabulous. And they’re pink. There’s that. So, today, because the wind was making the walls creak at 10 am, I dressed warm for the weather. Compression pants first, then yoga pants for warmth and to prevent all the pink in my outfit from super clashing because oh it really does, two bras (busty girls understand this), a long sleeve shirt weirdly enough from Rue 21, and my running jacket from Old Navy that I got for Christmas that I absolutely adore and wear all the time.

Don't me while I awkwardly show you the secret to my running warmth - and how much I love mismatched shades of pink in work out clothing!

Don’t me while I awkwardly show you the secret to my running warmth – and how much I love mismatched shades of pink in work out clothing!

The run was pretty nice, other than the fact that I started to blow across the park. My shins did twinge a little bit, so I tried to focus more on walking in good form rather than pushing too hard. I did push myself up and down a pretty steep hill in my neighborhood and felt like a super baller. Ever start doing something and go “oh I wish someone were videotaping me right now because I bet I look like a champion”? No? Just me? Swell. Afterward I came home and did 20 crunches with a medicine ball and 2 different sets of arm work with my resistance band. Not bad, I was running late or would’ve gotten some more done. My co-worker has been doing a work out that’s 15 minutes long before she showers every day. It’s a good idea, I may try it. Unfortunately, I usually already work out before I shower.

I’m going to talk about my meals at the end but I have to say, I ate meals in different quantity today than usual and really noticed a difference in my snacking and hunger patterns. It’s great, actually. I really haven’t strayed too much. I even decided against a chocolate chip cookie! That is BIG for me. You have no idea. My family loves cookies.

Next week I have my ‘Service Excellence’ corporate training and I’m a little worried about how it’s going to go. No lie, I’ve never done something like this before. It’ll be good though, and I love staying in hotels. Does that make me weird? Probably.

That’s all really, I’m really ready for the weekend and hopefully will get to plan a few fun things with friends. When it’s cold and crappy out, I have a tendency to hibernate and then grump about hibernating. My dad’s a little bit less of a pansy than me when it comes to hiking in the cold.

Well, I wrote most of this at work on my break (productivity!) and just updated it. We were a little busy at the end of the night and there was some departmental issues. Sometimes I wish everyone had to shadow every other position in the facility to better understand what their job actually consisted of, because we all (I’m definitely guilty too) sometimes assume things that aren’t true. But, tomorrow is the last day before the weekend! Upbeat!

Breakfast, y’all

Whole grain bagel with garlic hummus, scrambled eggs (1 part yolk, 3 parts white), and provologne, and an orange.

Whole grain bagel with garlic hummus, scrambled eggs (1 part yolk, 3 parts white), and provologne, and an orange.

breakfastdos131

I was so full after this that I didn’t even finish my orange! It was fantastic, filling and really helped me to eat at appropriate times the rest of the day. I didn’t find myself snacking anywhere near as much and I said “no” to a lot of things I’d normally reach for! Yay running and protein-filled breakfasts!

Lunch

Mind you, this was eaten around 7:30pm. I had a small scoop of mashed potatoes at 5 with the patients at dinner and that somehow filled me up HARD.

190 calories of sun-dried tomato bliss. Pretty darn good for being from the freezer. Like how I label my food at work?

190 calories of sun-dried tomato bliss. Pretty darn good for being from the freezer. Like how I label my food at work?

This was good, and even though I was craving something cheesy, it was satisfying. I had a low fat muffin too. Okay, I had two. I didn’t have fruit around!

Dinner/Snack

When I got home, I really only wanted a Bloody Mary light on vodka and bed. I love the salty, spiciness of a Bloody Mary, not going to lie. What lies below looks fried, but is actually only around 150 calories and is vegetarian. Mmm…cabbage.

I don't use Bloody Mary mix at home, I use V8 juice, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, tobasco, and Old Bay.

I don’t use Bloody Mary mix at home, I use V8 juice, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, tobasco, and Old Bay.

 

Those were my meals! It equaled out to be probably about 1300 calories, which is darn tootin’ for me. I have no idea why I’m adding all these weird semi-Southern phrases to everything. Good night!

-a.

2 thoughts on “Orange you glad it’s February?

  1. Wonnderful goods frpm you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you aree just too wonderful.
    I really like what you have acquired here, rreally like what you’re saying and the way in
    whichh you say it. You make it entertaining and you still
    take care of to keep it sensible.I can’t wait to read far more from you.
    This is relly a woonderful web site.

Leave a Reply

