Rainy Hump Days

So, as many know, I work a pretty fluctuated schedule that leads me to have sporadic days off and rarely have weekends. But thanks to my fabulous boss changing my schedule to now give me two weekends off a month, I actually get to experience what a “hump day wednesday” is! The mid-week slump, the “half way done”, the…I don’t know, excuse to drink on a Wednesday. Right now, I’m drinking Sleepytime Tea…because I’m just cool like that.

Today was a definitive Hump Day though, that’s for sure. It’s been downpouring here in Maryland since around 2pm. I woke up around 10, my usual no alarm wake up time, and meandered downstairs. I’m lucky in that my Wednesdays now are shorter shifts, only five hours. It throws me off a bit when I’m at work, but it’s nice to have the extra hours at my fingertips. I try to find something to do, but today I pretty much lounged on the couch. I feel bad, I had actually decided to roll off the couch and peel myself away from the TNT Bones Marathon to take Steve for a walk when it was still nice outside, and as soon as I’d gotten everything together, it started dumping buckets! I let Steve out just to show him how bad it was because he kept giving me puppy eyes and even he ran right back inside. I made it up to him by playing in the house and cuddling with him. 

Image

He was more than intent to watch the rain after it started…and bark at the leaves moving in the wind.

Image

His love of my fleece blanket is probably as strong as my love of…this fleece blanket.

The beautiful weather bursts this fall/winter have me all over the place. I used to be the kind of girl that played “Animal Town” with Beanie Babies and my favorite Barbie couple at the time inside with my little sister growing up. I actually cried once because people wanted to play outside. Over the past probably two years, I really found my ingrained love of nature. I’m not sure what brought it out, but you won’t find me inside on a nice day. Even on a crappy day. I run in 20 degree weather, hike when the wind may possibly knock me off of the overlook, and go on walks in the rain. The latter is probably depressing. Anywho, I used to hate camping (bugs? no mattress? bugs? …BUGS?), and now I freaking love it. That could be a combo of growing up and having the ability to listen to guitar and drink beer around a campfire but still.

Now that I’m beginning to reincorporate jogging back into my schedule, after my shin splints were too dangerously close to stress fractures for my to continue running like I was, I’ve been doing a lot better with timing my mornings. I used to run after work, at night. But the past few weeks, I’ve been running in the mornings when I first wake up. I always used to scrunch my nose up at people who ran before work at, say, 5am, but I get it. After work, I always have plans, or I’m too tired, or some other excuse. But in the morning, I rarely have plans or anything else I have to do so desperately, I can’t take 40 minutes out of my day to go for a run. I started with 1.5 miles every other day, and now I’ve built up to 2 every other day. I’m just making sure to take it slow and pay attention to my shins. And streeeetch.

Yesterday I ran a little over two miles, interval. I think I did a pretty good job of following the interval times I’m supposed to, and reminding myself to use my hamstrings to push myselv forward instead of my shins/calves. That’s what I usually get into the habit of doing, and that is also why I get painful shin splints. So, today is supposed to be my day off. But I didn’t want it to be. Because it’s the halfway point of the week, I wanted to push myself in some way, define my day as something more than just “laid on the couch and looked at blogs for three hours then dragged butt into work”, which is kind of what I did. So, after I submit this, I’m going to be doing some work with my medicine ball and resistance band. Yes, right before bed. My triceps and biceps are ABYSMAL. A-BYSMAL.

Lastly, I’m going to follow in the footsteps of one of my new favorite bloggers, Peanut Butter Fingers (pbfingers.com), and list my meals of the day. It keeps me accountable, because I have a tendency to slip and I don’t want to keep counting calories, and will probably make me update my posts more often. See? Getting through these New Years Resolutions like it’s my job.

Breakfast

Image

Twinings Green Tea and Chobani Raspberry Greek Yogurt

I’m usually not super hungry in the morning, as I’ve mentioned before, it takes me a while to actually get hungry. So, I wait an hour and even if I’m not actually tummy grumbling hungry, I’ll eat something. I love tea and drink it preeeetty much all the time, and I love the very low fat (today’s was 0!), high protein greek yogurt has to offer. It’s really been a process actually getting used to the texture and taste, but I’m starting to like it a lot. I…basically eat yogurt every morning.

Lunch

Image

HEALTH – Frozen buffalo wings with southwest yogurt ranch dressing, an orange, and skim milk.

Not super healthy, I’ll admit. But, again, accountability. I wish I could say I ate a salad of mixed greens with a myriad of health on top but…it was Wednesday.

Dinner

…I ate three packets of four cheddar and peanut butter crackers. I was at work and they were closer than the freezer where I have frozen steamed dinners. I have no excuses. That was my meal.

Snack

When I get home from work, I’m usually pretty hungry. During the week, my meal schedule gets mixed up. I usually eat a light breakfast, “lunch” at 5pm, and dinner or a snack when I get home at 11:30pm. I originally was eating pretty unhealthy snacks, I naturally crave unhealthy food later at night, but I’ve been doing better. Tonight it was a cup of steamed green beans with garlic, kosher salt, and a smidge of butter and an orange. And my tea!

 

That’s all! Two more days and then the weekend!

-a.

Leave a Reply

