Coping with Adult-ism

Did you see what I did there? Anyway, first I really wanted to thank everyone that’s been leaving me fabulous, extremely kind comments all up and down my facebook. I know commenting on here can be tricky for non-WP users, so the outpouring of comments, messages, and likes has been hands down humbling. I have great friends. Keep the feedback coming! I love knowing that I’m not writing to an empty room.

Ba-Dum-Cha.

Also, really quickly, after this post I have a few recipes I thumbs up and may still be drooling over for you to try, if you ever are up to it.

So, it’s Saturday and for a lot of people that means the weekend. Saturday and Sunday are “expected” days off in many post-college “big kid” jobs. However for me, having today off of work is a pretty big deal. As previously mentioned, I work in a patient care facility that never closes. That means evenings, overnights, weekends, holidays, the whole she-bang. I’m lucky in that over the year and almost a half I’ve worked there, my schedule’s evened out pretty nicely. Normally, I’ll have two days off during the week and work evenings (3-11 or 2nd shift to you 9-5ers) and weekend mornings (7am-3pm). And yes, it’s not fun. But I’ve gotten used to it so I’m comfortable with it. But this week, my forty hours were scheduled during the week and I miraculously have the weekend off. I quite literally did a full out, no holds barred happy dance last night at work because it was the weekend and that actually meant that I had two days off. I’m very lucky to have a boss that has done my job and is understanding and tries to work everyone into having weekends off occasionally. Which, Boss-Man, if you’re reading this, pushing for a raise wouldn’t be too much, would it?

But the basis for this entry comes from a group I facilitated the other day at work. The group was “Finding Balance”, something I felt completely arrogant talking about because, well, who the hell am I to talk about having a balanced life when mine is…so…wait a minute. My life is pretty balanced. When on earth did that happen?

 

Yesterday morning, I woke up, showered, ate a healthy breakfast, tried not to kill myself during yoga, when grocery shopping, and went to work. After work I had a beer with friends (okay, fine, two Yuenglings. Sue me.) then went home and went to sleep. This morning I woke up and cleaned my house without thinking about it. Somewhere between laying in bed until 4pm having anxiety attacks and planning every second of every day, I found my balance. And I have no idea when that happened. Or how. Just that, when I make decisions and commitments now, I usually keep them. Except getting sushi with McElwain, sorry, I owe you a spicy tuna roll. I make healthy decisions more often than unhealthy ones and I accept the unhealthy ones as fleeting lapses in judgement and try to learn from them. I don’t spend my days laying on the couch when I’m not at work, eating salt and vinegar chips and wondering why the floor looks so dirty. I give myself time to relax but not time to actually veg out.

What is happening to me?!

Is this what being an adult is all about? Isn’t there some rite of passage into adulthood? When did choosing organic greek yogurt over yocrunch become a possibility, let alone an unconscious thought process? Which, by the way, I am still trying to love greek yogurt. It’s a never-ending process. Except when it’s frozen, that shit’s the bomb-diggity.

Circa 2009. We both would have picked YoCrunch, no questions asked.

I make grilled chicken pitas for dinner without questioning time constraints because I know how long it takes to cook a chicken and won’t be late for work. I leave for meetings and I’m on time. Maybe a lot of you folks just accepted this as being normal and never reflected back on when it happened, or maybe for some frozen pizza for dinner is a solid idea six nights a week (not that I condemn that, I just seethe in jealousy). I pay bills, for godssakes. When does this happen? Is there a Bermuda Triangle that people go through passing from young adult into adult that causes these decisions to be made? I really want to order pizza for dinner now!

The realization that I have fallen into responsibility when I least expected it truly sends me reeling. Suddenly I’m not sixteen, or eighteen, or twenty one anymore. Suddenly, I’m just me and me gets the job done. Me gets the job done right, most of the time.

That’s all I really wanted to touch on today: my early-20’s crisis. Now I’m going to vacuum the living room and work out for an hour. Oh my god, where did day drinking go?!

– a.

Recipes for you to be super excited about:

The BEST Protein Shake Ever.

(yes the one I keep posting all over Facebook and Twitter)

hello, eat me.

You will need:

– One scoop of “Pure Protein: Frosty Chocolate”

– One tablespoon of Hershey’s Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

– Genesis Today Açaí Berry Juice (4-6oz)

– Ice (about 6 big cubes)

– Strawberry, for garnish

To make:

Put it all in the blender and blend like crazy. For the juice, I usually eyeball it but it’s probably roughly between 4-6 oz. It tastes like chocolate-covered raspberries. It’s like a treat for exercising.

 

Chicken and Goat Cheese Pita

(Picture to come!)

What you’ll need:

– 2.5-3oz. boneless, skinless chicken breast

– Arnold 100-calorie Pocket Thins Flatbread (1)

– Lettuce of your choosing, I chose three leaves from a Romaine heart

– Goat cheese

– Low-fat Sour Cream (2 tablespoons)

– Garlic powder (To taste)

– Dill (To taste)

To make:

Grill the chicken evenly on both sides, then slice thinly. Slide half into each half of the flat bread, along with the lettuce, and about a teaspoon of crumbled goat cheese in each side. If you want more goat cheese, go crazy. Goat cheese is like heaven from a goat. Mix sour cream, garlic, and dill together until smooth. I say to taste because I love garlic and dill and other people probably not as much. Drizzle that lightly into each pocket. If you’re not a fan of sour cream, Italian dressing could be a nice back up option.

I had this for dinner last night and was dying of joy at the table at work. It only took me maybe 15 minutes from start to finish too because the chicken was so thin.

Note: Everything I make is usually single serving, unless it’s my eggplant and zucchini parmigiana or something, so that’s why the amounts are so small. It could be scaled up pretty easily though to accommodate bigger groups.

Leave a Reply

