I Dream in Chocolate

Hello all, I have another well thought out piece in the making, but as a celebration of it being my 23rd birthday as of midnight, I’ve decided to do another one of my aforementioned intentions: post pictures of food. Lucky for you, I have a weird tidbit to add along with the food. Just to warn you, I’m extremely slap happy and tired, so please forgive my incredible lack of maturity.

As of late, I’ve found myself craving chocolate. A LOT. Now, I’m not a gigantic chocolate eater most of the time. For most of my life, I’ve been a Hot Tamales kind of girl. Cinnamon and I, we go way back. But within the last few weeks, it’s been my go-to craving. I have already heard the obligatory “PREGNANCY” outcries from friends, so, to clarify: I am not pregnant. But my do I ache after dark chocolate.

Yes, that’s right, Hershey’s kisses still make me gag. It’s the dark chocolate I’ve been coveting. What seems to work is a nice cup of frozen berries (I’m partial to strawberries, blueberries, and raspberries) with one serving of Giradelli 60% cacao dark chocolate baking chips. It’s low calorie, high in antioxidants, and delicious after a nice jog.

But I’ve gotten creative. Cue horror music, I know.

20120906-015838.jpg
This is my stack of whole wheat dark chocolate buttermilk pancakes.

How to make me:

    1. Add three tablespoons of the cocoa powder of your choice to pancake mix. I used Hodgson Mill’s whole wheat pancake mix, substituted skim milk, and added Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa powder.
    2. Cook in Belgian Waffle iron, break into four squares, wrap individually, and freeze.

This is so easy and they’re so good. I add a pat of light butter and a small drizzle of raw honey. And no, I did not eat this huge stack of waffles. I froze them all. And they’re just as good microwaved. Move over, Eggo. It’s true though, I’m trying to eat less processed food and freezing meals has been helping. And it has chocolate. They’re great for a “shit I woke up late” breakfast or a “the last thing I want is more fiber twigs” breakfast.
…by the way, I eat fiber twigs for breakfast.

Anyway, my big exciting creation tonight was born after I realized that I had no chocolate chips and I’d only eaten about 800 calories. So, as a birthday treat, I made this:

20120906-021347.jpg

I made the world’s easiest fake-it-till-you-make-it ganache. Shut up, you say? It looks a little like the end result of walking your dog? This is true. Basically, I mixed three tablespoons of the same cocoa powder with three tablespoons of low fat half n half and one packet of Splenda. I mixed until it was the proper consistency and drizzled it over frozen fruit. I legitimately licked the bowl clean. It was a little inappropriate. Dark, delicious, and not too sweet. I feel like I just described a male prostitute, a little bit.

Anyway, a proper post should be revealed tomorrow. Until then,
-a.

Leave a Reply

